Help Setting Up Gaming on PC (on home network/NAS)

ziggy1979

Newcomer
Trophies
Hi Everyone

Total Newb to gaming (and home networking ?) so please be kind...I really hope you can help!

I literally just bought a gaming laptop (Win 10) for CAD work but with this Coronavirus lockdown I don’t have much work to do and more importantly have 3 little kids in the house. The eldest (about to turn 6) loves mine craft and given that we’ve just had to cancel his birthday party I thought it would be nice if I could set up a TV with my new laptop running some games for him.

Thing is, in a ideal world the laptop wouldn’t be in the same room. If possible, I’d like to buy a NAS drive where the games are stored that’s somehow networked to my Laptop which displays the game ona (networked?) TV without thelaptop having to be in the same room.

I don’t know if the above is possible but if it is id be really grateful for any help and advice.

I’d also need to buy controllers (2x?) preferably Bluetooth given the younger 2especially.

Apologies for the super basic questions and apologies if I really should have a better clue ?

Many thanks
Zigs ????

When you say NAS drive are you talking about a full-blown NAS setup, like a Synology box, or are you talking about an external hard drive connected to the router to work as a shared drive? Either way can be done, but I'm not sure how you would expect to control the game on the TV if the laptop is elsewhere. Minecraft works better with a keyboard and mouse than a gaming controller, and even the best gaming controller needs to be within a certain distance of the device it's connecting to, so if the TV and laptop are separated by a couple of rooms, the controller may not function or may lag, and since it's minecraft, you're likely going to need a keyboard for some of the extra functions.

Just thought I'd get a little clarification and see if I can lend a further hand!